Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Atlanta Announces 2012/2013 Youth of the Year

Local Teen Honored for Academic Achievement, Leadership and Community Service

November 16, 2012

Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Atlanta (BGCMA) is honored to announce the winner of its 2012/2013 Youth of the Year award - Nyomi Haynes. The prestigious award is BGCMA's highest honor, recognizing teens from Clubs in the metro Atlanta area who demonstrate academic achievement, leadership skills and service to the community. 

On November 15, BGCMA welcomed all 19 Youth of the Year nominees and nearly 700 attendees including supporters, staff, friends and family to the signature Youth of the Year awards ceremony at the Georgia Aquarium.  Attendees heard touching stories from six Youth of the Year finalists focused on how their Clubs have helped shape their lives and put them on a path toward leadership. 

“Youth of the Year is a celebration of our teens and the outstanding work they are doing to further their futures and change the lives of others,” said Missy Dugan, president and CEO of BGCMA. “We couldn’t be more proud of our talented finalists. They teach us everyday that, despite life’s challenges, with big dreams and hard work, great futures are possible.”  

Meet Nyomi Haynes - Youth of the Year 
Friends and mentors describe Nyomi as "passionate, charismatic and bright". Nyomi has used her raw talent and perseverant spirit to lead in her Club, community, school and at home. She has served in key roles including president of the South Atlanta Boys & Girls Club Keystone Club,  College Bound Ambassador, South Atlanta Law and Social Justice Ambassador and Mock Trial Lead Attorney. Like many of her Boys & Girls Club peers, Nyomi dreams big. She hopes to attend Georgetown University and pursue a career as a United States Supreme Court Justice.  Read more about Nyomi and her journey toward a great future. 

As Youth of the Year, Nyomi was awarded a $5,000 college scholarship. In spring 2013, she will continue to compete for statewide YOY honors.  

Congratulations to all of the Youth of the Year nominees and our finalists below:
  • Parris Brown, James T. Anderson Boys & Girls Club, first runner-up and recipient of a $2,500 scholarship
  • Joshua Lewis, Warren/Holyfield Boys & Girls Club, second runner-up and recipient of a $1,500 scholarship
  • Amanda de Leon, Michael A. Grant Boys & Girls Club, third runner-up and recipient of the $1,000 scholarship 
  • Tyrian Herring, Newnan/Coweta Boys & Girls Club, finalist
  • Harnepher Mentoe, A. Worley Brown Boys & Girls Club, finalist

BGCMA also awarded top honors to Tavari Turner of East Dekalb Boys & Girls Club who received the Ada Lee Community Spirit Award for his dedication to giving back. 

BGCMA offers thanks to our many supporters for joining together to celebrate these extraordinary teens. 
Find out how you can get involved and shape great futures.
Check out video footage of our talented teens.